This was my first meal at Five Guys, a restaurant chain that originated in Arlington, Virginia. The whole establishment is decorated with large quotes from various publications stating how good the burgers and fries are. My expectations are already heightened the moment I walk into Five Guys.

Cindy and I both ordered the cheeseburger with different toppings that match our individual taste buds. I, of course had mine with: hot sauce, jalapeños, tomatoes, and mayo. Cindy had hers with barbecue sauce, grilled onions, lettuce, and tomato. I did not want to add too many toppings, for the fear of having a mushy burger.

The burgers tasted like a homemade burger that you would grill outside in the park. I never had a burger well done but at Five Guys, you have no choice. Well done burgers were good and had a nice flavor to it without it being extremely juicy. The cajun fries we had were heavily seasoned. I am going to order regular fries the next time I go. They were good none the less. They also had a sign up stating that their french fries are cooked in pure, no cholesterol peanut oil.

Oh, did I mention there are complimentary open boxes of roasted peanuts everywhere in the restaurant? Feel free to help yourself.

2100 88th Street
North Bergen, NJ 07047
201-662-7800

