I had a chance to meet up with some of my sorority sisters yesterday; one of them happened to be visiting from Buffalo. We decided to try Shake Shack, located in the Theater District in Manhattan. Everyone seems to be clamoring about their burgers and surely enough when we arrived, there was a line coming out of the door (apparently, the lines are always long even at their other locations). However, the wait to get to the register didn’t seem too long or unbearable. It was extremely packed and hard to get seats but we managed to grab some while we waited for our food to come out.

We all ordered the single Shack burger which comes with lettuce, tomato, American cheese, and “Shack Sauce,” whatever that may be. I also ordered french fries and a regular size of freshly squeezed lemonade (which I do not recommend). The total came out to $10…not bad. I wouldn’t have gotten the lemonade if I knew there was a self-serve for water. The lemonade was disgusting and tasted watered down.

I didn’t seem to get a “Wow, this is amazing!” feeling once I bit into my burger. My sister claims that In-N-Out burgers are still the best; which I still have yet to try. The meat was cooked medium and was very tender. However, I really did enjoy the fries, which are made from Yukon Gold potatoes and are free from artificial trans-fats. Not greasy and somewhat crispy. Overall, the food tasted fresh (besides the lemonade), and I would come back and try their frozen custards. I do believe it is a bit over-hyped. It is definitely a tourist attraction but it beats McDonald’s which is located right across from Shake Shack.

693 8th Ave
(between 43rd St & 44th St)
New York, NY 10036

