My girl suggested we go to eat some good authentic Japanese Ramen at the East Village in New York City.  By chance, that day was also one of the hottest days of the summer so far.  Right when we entered the tiny boutique ramen restaurant, we were blasted with hot air coming from the kitchen which was basically on top of the patrons who were eating there.

The small place did not seem to have an air conditioning unit but we decided to stay and eat some ramen since the journey to get here was a long one.  My girl ordered the Shoyu ramen which was soy sauce based pork broth ramen and I ordered the basic pork broth ramen which was garlic based, both with thick noodles.  I also ordered a Sapporo to cool down while we were waiting for the food.

The first thing I noticed taking my first bite was how well the noodles were cooked. They were cooked to perfection being al dente of course.  My broth was incredibly garlicky which I did not expect and my girl’s broth was sort of salty (maybe because of the soy sauce?). Both dishes came with a sheet of nori (toasted seaweed), mushrooms, fatty pieces of pork, and various vegetables.  Overall I was pleasantly surprised and would eat there again but this time order a more neutral flavored broth.

P.S. This place needs air conditioning ASAP!

536 E 5th St
New York, New York
212-505-8001

