John and I had our first dim sum experience together yesterday morning at jing fong restaurant, located on 20 Elizabeth Street in Chinatown, New York. The escalator ride transported us to a huge banquet hall, also known as dim sum heaven. This was the first time that I went without my family and unfortunately I do not speak a word of Chinese (being the typical american born Chinese I am), so John and I ended up pointing to the carts of dim sum and ordered whatever that looked good to us. Yes, the service may not be up to par but we didn’t care. John got up from his seat and chased after some of the carts. We were still satisfied and full towards the end of our meal.

We ended up with 6 small dishes of: short ribs, vegetable dumplings (there is one missing in the photo because John was impatient), shrimp wrapped in soft noodle sheets and soy sauce, pork buns, shrimp dumplings, and egg tarts (not pictured above). Each dish was as authentic as it could get and very delicious! There are lots more dishes to try out but unfortunately our tummies was packed with capacity. If you are ever in the area and are feening for dim sum, I suggest you check it out. 🙂

20 Elizabeth Street
New York, NY 10013-4802
(212) 964-5256

